Cooking Kosher Around the World

Enjoy Kosher Food Around the World

Rainbow Baby Spinach Salad

So my mom decided she wanted baby spinach with baked sweet potatoes the other day, based on a salad she bought once from a place that’s no longer open. She served the salad, salad bar style because we have picky people here. The options consisted of a baby spinach base, baked sweet potatoes, tomatoes, avocado, cucumber, red and yellow peppers, and deli meat.

I wanted to take this salad further, I had all these ideas in my head of what else to put in it. So I came up with my own salad based on the ideas I had. Of course, you can create your own salad, add and eliminate based on your preferences. Also I rarely do dressing, so the flavors from this salad occur naturally. I hope that I’ve inspired you.

Idea #1-Saute the spinach with garlic, I added a teensy bit of salt and pepper to my spinach. If you’re going to eat the spinach raw, I wouldn’t salt and pepper it, but it’s up to you.

Idea #2-Serve the salad warm

Idea # 3-Add in toasted pine nuts

I decided to try and make this salad for lunch, but I wanted to include my ideas. I like to eat colorfully, so I always have in mind that I want my food to be attractive and appetizing to me. I was also trying to use up what was in the house. Our baby spinach was starting to go, so sauteing it was a natural choice. I like garlic, and thought it would go, it does go, but you need a very minimal amount, I used approximately 5 cloves for 2 bags of spinach, while 1-2 would have done the trick, unless you’re looking for that very garlicky taste.

This salad does need multiple steps, but it’s easy. I had thought there were leftover hard-boiled eggs, so that was one less thing I had to worry about, but I was wrong, they had been finished.

This is a good order to do the steps in, if you don’t have anything already prepared.

1. Roasted Beets-I wash the beets, wrap it in a aluminum foil and put it in a preheated 450 F oven until a chopstick or skewer is inserted easily 1-2 hours.

2. Sweet Potato-Slice and put it on a greased pan and in the oven with the beets.

3. Hard Boiled Eggs-I usually place my eggs in the pot, add water (salt the water) until the eggs are just covered and bring to a rapid boil. I then shut off the flame, take it off the heat source,  and cover the pot. I put a timer on for 9 minutes. Towards the end of those 9 minutes, you want to set up and ice bath and cold running water. It’s important for the water to be cold, the colder it is the better. Once the timer beeps, you want to quickly empty out the hot water and as fast as you can, get the eggs into the ice bath or under cold running water. I’ve often had an ice bath and cold running water together. You want to make sure the eggs have sufficiently cooled and stopped the cooking process.

4. Toast your pine nuts, until golden brown. Just place in hot frying pan, no oil needed and watch them. Remove from pan when golden brown.

5. Wash and slice your mushrooms-saute in pan until tender.

6. Now is a good time to lightly toast your garlic, once the garlic is lightly toasted you can add the spinach leaves and let them wilt slightly. The wilting process takes a few seconds. Of course, if you would rather not wilt your spinach, it’s good raw

7. I had made raw zucchini noodles to eat with meatballs and had leftovers, so I just threw them in there.

Now you can assemble your salad, you can cut the vegetables, however you prefer. I had sliced most of my vegetables. I would recommend large dices for the beet, and slices for the egg.

Serve warm or cold.

It’s a delicious and colorful salad.

It was such a shame that I didn’t have a camera with me. Next time, I make this salad, and I most likely will make it, I hope to post a picture, and if you make it, maybe you’ll be willing to share a picture with the world.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 4, 2015 by in Healthy Eating, Salad, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 720 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

