Cooking Kosher Around the World

Enjoy Kosher Food Around the World

Kosher Dietary Guidelines

I figured kosher dietary guidelines would be a good place to start before  going into recipes. I’m going to try to keep it simple.

1. No mixing meat or dairy. Poultry is included  in the meat category for kosher eating purposes.


So, no chicken in or with milk, no cheeseburgers etc.

2. Only certain types of meat are allowed, the animal must have split hooves and chew its cud.

Cattle, sheep, goats, deer and bison are kosher. Rabbit, pig, camel are not allowed

3. Only certain types of fish/seafood are allowed. Fish need to have scales and fins.

Shrimp, catfish, crab and lobster, oysters are just some of the no-nos.

cute children’s book that explains the rules of kosher-Available on Amazon

4. Produce must be checked for bugs

Yep, no eating creepy crawly creatures or worms.

This is the very, very basics. If you’d like to learn about keeping kosher more in depth http://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm

Some Kosher Certification Symbols

I am only going to discuss the ones that I know to be reliable. Others may be reliable too, but I just don’t have the information on them. The ones in the above picture that I personally hold to be reliable is the cRc one in the triangle, the one right underneath that with the mini K and the VH, the O with the U in the middle, the O with the K in the middle, the star with the K in the middle on the bottom right corner, and the hebrew letter chaf which is on the top right corner with the K in the middle.

 

Kosher fail

If you have any other questions, just leave me a comment below.

7 comments on “Kosher Dietary Guidelines

  1. Janice
    February 26, 2013

    Hi. What is the symbol on the far right of your image in the middle row. It has a K in the middle of a Jewish star in the middle of a shield. I received gumballs with this certification on it and just have no idea where it’s from. Thanks for any help.

    • 4sch
      February 26, 2013

      Hi Janice, It’s Star K, http://www.star-k.org/. I believe their headquarters are located in Baltimore, Md. They are considered a very respectable kosher certification.

      • Janice
        March 4, 2013

        FYI, I found out more information about this hechsher. Though it is issued by Kosher Technical Konsultants of the Orthodox Jewish Council (in Philadelphia, PA) it was not on the CRC approved list and, therefore, my caterer would not use the item.

  2. Janice
    February 26, 2013

    Thanks for responding so quickly. I thought Star K was the 5-point star with the K inside. I was referring to the symbol above that one. Is this an alternate symbol they have?

    • 4sch
      February 26, 2013

      Oops, I don’t either know what that one is or whether it’s reliable, thank you for pointing it out to me. I think maybe I should edit the post to make note of the fact of which ones I know are for sure reliable. Sorry I wasn’t able to help you.

  3. Daniel Danieli
    July 17, 2013

    Kosher Technical Konsultants, a division of the Orthodox Jewish Council has been around for 40 plus years. The CrC is not the rule of law regarding kashrut. When Rabbi Benjamin Shendalov was the Director of the CRC, the Shield Star K was accepted as he was impartial and non-political but, with the present person running the show who worked for the OU – I will stop there. When you are part of the “boy’s club” then you are accepted. Are we now on our way to destroy Bayot Shelishi?

    • 4sch
      April 29, 2014

      Ok, although this is old, I noticed I haven’t replied. I realized I don’t know the whole story and which certifications are reliable, some are lesser known, I should have written I do not have information about all these certifications. I will amend that.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 15, 2012 by in Uncategorized.

Navigation

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 706 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

